Co-Presidents

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Senator David Coltart MP, Zimbabwe Senator Rosario Green, Mexico Hideo Hiraoka MP, Japan Bill Kidd MP, Scotland Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Rep Ed Markey, United States Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom Marit Nybakk MP, Norway Uta Zapf MP, Germany

PNND Honorary Member

Helen Clark, New Zealand

PNND Special Representative

Senator Roméo Dallaire, Canada

PNND UN Liaison

Dennis Kucinich, United States

Council Members

Aytuğ Atıcı MP, Turkey Frieda Broepels MEP, Belgium Martin Monestel Contreras, Costa Rica Jeremy Corbyn MP, United Kingdom Senator Michelle Demessine, France Paul Dewar MP, Canada Abdullah Ensour MP, Jordan Paul Hutchison MP. New Zealand Harry Jenkins MP, Australia Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP, Iceland Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt Roderich Kiesewetter MP, Germany Dov Khenin MP. Israel Taro Kono MP, Japan Young-ghil Kwon MP, South Korea Hallgeir Langeland MP. Norway Dirk van der Maelen MP. Belgium Christa Markwalder MP. Switzerland Federica Mogherini MP, Italy Senator Tolegen Mukhamejanov, Kazakhstan Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Holger Nielsen MP, Denmark Senator David Norris. Ireland Claudio Monge Pereira MP, Costa Rica Alongkorn Ponlaboot - Thailand François De Rugys - France Senator Richard Tuheiava, France Christer Winback MP, Sweden

Past Presidents

Abacca Anjain Maddison, Marshall Islands Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania Marian Hobbs, New Zealand Sergei Kolesnikov, Russia Alexa McDonough, Canada Douglas Roche, Canada

Alumni Council Members

Angelika Beer, Germany Edine von Herold, Costa Rica Issam Makhoul, Israel Senator Aquilino Pimentel, Philippines Rudolph Rechsteiner, Switzerland Juri Tamm, Estonia

Ex officio members

Jonathan Granoff,
President of Global Security Institute
Tadatoshi Akiba,
Chair of Middle Powers Initiative
Alyn Ware, PNND Global Coordinator
Robert Grey,
Chair of Bipartisan Security Group

Invitation to join

Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament

Dear Parliamentary Colleagues

A catastrophic use of nuclear weapons by accident, miscalculation or intent, continues to be a very real possibility, fueled by the existence of nearly 17,000 nuclear weapons, the possibility of their spread to additional countries and terrorist groups, and the continuation of regional and international conflicts involving nuclear-armed or nuclear-threshold countries.

We have an historic opportunity to make progress, resulting from a new high-level commitment to the **vision of a nuclear-weapons-free world** and a growing cross-party consensus that the global abolition of nuclear weapons is both imperative and increasingly feasible.

However, political momentum is required in order to forge the multilateral regime and security mechanisms required to achieve a secure nuclear-weapons-free world.

United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon, in a letter to every parliament in the world, noted that:

We stand at a watershed moment for the achievement of international security through a world free of nuclear weapons. At a time when the international community is facing unprecedented global challenges, parliamentarians can take on leading roles in ensuring sustainable global security, while reducing the diversion of precious resources from human needs.

We thus invite you to join Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND), an international nonpartisan forum for legislators to share perspectives and develop collaborative initiatives to prevent proliferation and achieve nuclear disarmament.

PNND is an initiative of the Global Security Institute - founded by U.S. Senator Alan Cranston - and the Middle Powers Initiative, which work alongside key countries advancing cooperative security, nuclear nonproliferation and disarmament initiatives.

PNND provides up-to-date and relevant information to legislators on nuclear weapons issues, events such as major intergovernmental meetings, and parliamentary actions including resolutions, debates, joint appeals and legislation.

Head Office

Basel Peace Office Steingraben 5 CH-4051 Basel Switzerland alyn@pnnd.org

United Nations Office

866 UN Plaza Suite 4050 New York, NY 10017 United States of America Tel: +1 646 289 5170 Fax: +1 646 289 5171

Washington Office

Bipartisan Security Group 110 Maryland Ave NE, #508 Washington, DC 20002, USA Tel: +1 202 543-9017 Fax: +1 202 543-0799 bs@gsinstitute.org

European Office

Xanthe Hall
IPPNW-Germany
Kortestrasse 10,
Berlin, Germany
Tel: +49 30 6980-7412
xanthe@pnnd.de

East Asian Office

Hiromichi Umebayashi Peace Depot, 1-30-27-4-1F Hiyoshi-honcho Kohoku-ku, Yokohama, 223-0062, Japan Tel: +81 45-563-5101 cxj15621@nifty.ne.jp

Arab Coordinator

March 2014

Mona Makhamreh Al fuhies – AL Amal st P.O. Box 37, Amman Jordan 19152 Tel.: +962 79580-3022 muna@pnnd.org PNND also provides a variety of forums in which legislators can learn from each other and collaborate on national, regional and international measures. These include conferences, newsletters, seminars, briefings, meetings of other parliamentary networks and contacts with parliamentary colleagues in other countries. We invite you to visit www.pnnd.org for more information on PNND's work and activities.

PNND has no membership fee, nor any requirement to subscribe to any specific perspective or policy. We are truly non-partisan. To join PNND, send an email with your name, position and contact details to info@pnnd.org.

We look forward to your participation and take this opportunity to extend our highest regards.

Yours sincerely

PNND Co-Presidents:

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India

Chair of the Rajiv Gandhi Action Plan Group Member of Global Zero

Tara Cronberg MEP, Finland

Chair of the European Parliament Delegation for relations with Iran

Bill Kidd MSP, Scotland

Co-Convener, Cross-Party Group in the Scottish Parliament on Nuclear Disarmament

Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea

Secretary-General of the Democratic Party

of South Korea

Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom

Board Member of the Inter-Parliamentary Union **UK** Group

Christine Muttonen MP, Austria

Vice-President, OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

Saler Chowdhung

Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh

President, First Standing Committee (Peace & International Security) Inter Parliamentary Union

Paul Dewar MP, Canada

可野大部

Vice-Chair Foreign Affairs and International **Development Committee**

Taro Kono MP

President of PNND Japan Former Director of the Foreign Affairs Committee

Rep Ed Markey, United States

Co-chair of the US House of Reps Bipartisan Taskforce on Non-proliferation

Marit Nybakk MP, Norway

Vice-President of the Parliament of Norway

Senator Richard Tuheiava, France

Member, Senate Defence Committee